the entrepreneurship curriculum 

Stuart Crispin

This article was first published in 2018 in the Entrepreneurial Mindset Network eZINE Volume 1 no 1 

The Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) is the collective voice of all Australian university business schools.  Its  39 members teach and research the areas vital to the success of the businesses that underpin Australia’s economy. 

In February 2018, the members of the ABDC Learning and Teaching Network gathered in Canberra for the latest in their series of regular meetings.

The Entrepreneurial Mindset Network contributed to the meeting by running a workshop on the theme of “entrepreneurship in the curriculum” and facilitating the consequent discussions.

Image credit: Pixabay


During the workshop we discussed how staff working in universities might take a more entrepreneurial approach to higher education.  We explored the Network's MINDSET mnemonic  that is designed to help people easily remember the key aspects of the entrepreneurial mindset. 

Stuart Crispin, Co-ordinator of the Learning and Teaching Network, said after the workshop that “the Entrepreneurial Mindset mnemonic is a great way to think about being entrepreneurial in higher education.” For example, an entrepreneurial mindset can help you to play to your strengths, to make smart use of the available resources and to stay in control of your workload. 

Workshop Participants

The workshop participants* represented 26 higher education institutions

Auckland University of Technology

Australian National University

Bond University

Deakin University

Edith Cowan University

Federation University

Griffith University

James Cook University

Macquaire University

Monash University


Southern Cross University

Swinburne Univesity of Technology

University of Melbourne

University of New Engalnd

University of New South Wales

University of Newcastle

University of Queensland

University of South Australia

University of the Sunshine Coast

University of Tasmania

University of Western Australia

University of Technology Sydney

Victoria University

Victoria University of Wellington

Western Sydney University

*15 Females, 11 Males ◼️